Day 1:Being a Perfectionist Complicates Uncomplicated Things

I’m feeling overwhelmed right now. I have so many plans, but I like to go at them whole-heartedly and give things my all. I just keep seeing little things that I can slightly alter. Even after I think I am finished. For instance, currently with my résumé. I think it looks great, and then I look again a few minutes later, and see all these things that can be changed. I need to learn to accept my best. Obviously after spending hours on it, it has to look pretty damn good. I’m just having trouble with the “what ifs” about it. What if I wrote too much? What if I didn’t include enough? What if the bullet points aren’t aligned? What if the spacing is off?

I think what it all comes down to is the question…

What if I’m not good enough?

I need to take a hot bath, relax, and just have faith in myself. I’ve done all I can do. I need to realize that perfection doesn’t exist. It’s what makes us human.

If only it were that easy.

Leave a Reply

