Day 336: Thankful

This year I have learned so much about being thankful for what and who you have while you have them. And not just on Thanksgiving. Every day of the year. It’s crazy to think that just this year we were stricken by the terrible news that my grandma had stage four terminal cancer, and that just this year we lost her. It’s crazy to think that one year ago today she was sitting at that table with us commenting on how good the food was. That one year ago today she was still with us. I’d be lying if I said that I don’t miss her like crazy. That I don’t think about her often, and wonder how she’s doing and if she actually is watching over my family. I am so so thankful for all of the wonderful people in my life. From my family, to my friends, to my amazingly sweet and caring boyfriend. I don’t know what I would do without them, and I am truly thankful for every day I have with them. For every day that passes and I wake up knowing that they are all still okay. I really want to make a point to give back to my community through volunteering at a nursing home or something. I really just want to do something to help others that were in the position I was in because quite frankly, kind strangers were the ones who got me through the days at times. I want to give to others what kind strangers gave to me during those difficult times. I am so thankful for my health and for the health of all those around me. I’d be lying if I said she wasn’t a part of the reason that I’d like to go into medicine. I would like to do anything I can to help ensure patients of any kind get the treatment they deserve before things get too out of hand and looked past like they did with my sweet grandma. Anything I can do to give back. ❤

On a lighter note, this little muffin kept hanging around the lunch table all day and I'm pretty sure with all the sad looks he gave people with some turkey treats in return, he probably has had more turkey today than I have. He is such a cutie.

20121123-012419.jpg

Leave a Reply

