Day 138: Making up for lost time

My sister, Sanaz, and me in our first picture together in about ten years.

 

Today my step sister and I met for lunch to celebrate for my upcoming birthday. I can’t believe I’m almost 20. I also can’t believe we are finally communicating again. It’s really nice to have her back in my life. I think today is probably the first time that things felt a bit less emotional, and a “sister bond” was actually felt in the things we were talking about. Of course, some of the lunch was spent talking of the past – it’s so difficult for it not to – but I think we’re finally moving past the worst. I couldn’t have asked for a better birthday gift than to actually have my sister back. It’s crazy how similar we are in our likes, thought processes, views, and even facial features. I’m just so incredibly thankful that the good things are helping to outweigh the bad right now. Like I mentioned in a previous post, I just have to keep grasping onto these rays of sunshine.

Leave a Reply

