Day 117: Holding onto anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned

Life isn’t fair sometimes. It’s filled will all sorts of events. Some are so happy we can’t stop crying with laughter, others so sad we just can’t stop crying. Some say that if you never experience true sadness, how can you ever truly experience true happiness? I suppose I agree with this remark. It’s just really difficult to get through those difficult moments sometimes, and I wish that wasn’t the case. I know I say it a lot, but we really have to make certain to love everyone around us as much as we can and show them that love because we never know what tomorrow has in store. I’ll admit that I have a hard time showing my feelings sometimes, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t care oh so much about all my loved ones. Just thinking of them not being happy makes me feel overwhelmed and sad. I love every single one of my family members and friends oh so much- I wish I could show them how much I care every day.

We went to the emergency room today because my grandmother, who has stage four cancer all throughout her body and a broken spine, was showing pretty bad symptoms. It turns out that she actually has pneumonia now too. I hate when bad things happen to good people. It’s just not fair. If there was something I could do to take her pain away I would do it in a heartbeat. All this is just heartbreaking to watch, and it’s a flashback to when I lost my grandfather. And it’s honestly pretty tough. Staying strong is key though. To getting not only myself but everyone around me through it. I’m lucky that I have the family I do. And I’m so thankful that everyone is on good terms again. I don’t know how we would have gotten through this about five years ago during “the fight” that was stupid and separated our family for much to long. Life’s too short to spend any time being angry and holding grudges. What’s the point?

“Holding onto anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned.

-Buddha

20120428-000207.jpg

5 thoughts on “Day 117: Holding onto anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned

Leave a Reply

