Day 104: Explore. Dream. Discover.

I’ve made a decision. Nervousness is no longer going to fly. I have a really bad habit of working thing up so much and getting so nervous that I stress and wear myself out like no other. While heading to a lunch today to meet a friend I hadn’t seen in at least two years I made a decision when I started to feel nervous. I made the decision that it just isn’t worth it. What is going to happen is going to happen and there is no way of getting around that. Building it up in your head is no good for anyone and it leaves you even more overwhelmed with so many “what/ifs.” It’s just a waste, especially with so many other things on my plate all the time, so I’m going to actually start following one of my favorite quotes by Mark Twain. Specifically the “throw off the bowlines” part. Of course the rest of the quote is lovely too.

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you don’t do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor, catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

-Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

