Day 91: If I was told that I only had a few months left to live…

20120401-212520.jpg

If I was told that I only had a few months left to live, there are a few things that I would make sure to do. For starters, I would make sure that all of my loved ones knew without a doubt just how much they meant to me. I wouldn’t just assume that they knew I loved and cared about them, but I would make sure to tell them and show them. I would also get to work on my bucket list and all of the other little things that I’ve always wanted to do but never had the time, courage, or reason. I would go cliff diving, sky diving, and I probably would walk into an elevator full of strangers and say, “I bet you’re wondering why I’ve gathered you all here today.” I wouldn’t think twice about taking chances and living the precious life that I had left to the fullest. Finding out my grandmother has cancer- yet another one being attacked by it that I love- has really made me think about what I would do in the situation. What can you do? We get the life we are dealt with and don’t have much say in the matter except for how we react to it and what we do about it. I think now is the absolute perfect time to bring up one of my favorite quotes by the author Elizabeth Gilbert.

“There is so much about my fate that I cannot control, but other things do fall under the jurisdiction. I can decide how I spend my time, whom I interact with, whom I share my body and life and money and energy with. I can select what I can read and eat and study. I can choose how I’m going to regard unfortunate circumstances in my life-whether I will see them as curses or opportunities. I can choose my words and the tone of voice in which I speak to others. And most of all, I can choose my thoughts.”

We should all be living life in this manner 24/7. No matter how many days we have left on this journey of life. We are given this gift, so why not use it to its full potential and get as many memories and life-changing experiences as we can out of it?

Leave a Reply

