Day 81: Tonight the odds were ever in our favor

So tonight, I think it’s fair to say that the odds were ever in our favor. I never ended up being able to find an orange backpack, so I actually made one today. Aside from the facts that one- it looks like a pumpkin and two- its so absolutely small, I think it turned out pretty well. I had all I needed by the end of the night for my outfit. I was actually surprised that I didn’t see one other girl dressed as Katniss. I did only get to see those in the lobby and my theatre though. A lot of girls did have braids though, and one girl looked identical to prim! I did get a few stares. Probably because of the bow and arrow sticking out of my back. I nearly wasn’t allowed in because of it. Thankfully I was though, so that $6 of my costume didn’t go to waste. Shannon and Cody also dressed up. Cody is supposed to be Peeta and Shannon was supposed to be on the interview red fiery dress. Hey, we tried!

20120323-033440.jpg

20120323-033605.jpg

20120323-033542.jpg

20120323-033529.jpg

For a two and a half hour movie, I think the director did a pretty good job with fitting an entire book’s plot into it. I would have liked to have seen more Katniss and Peeta romance, and struggling in the actual games for water and such, but beggars can’t be choosers. Plus they have the next two books to help build the tension. I like the way they panned out to Gale watching, and the way the game maker station was incorporated. It’s difficult to do that when a story is told in first person. Overall, I approve of the movie, and I am so glad that they didn’t completely butcher the book.

Also, I think Lauren and my mustaches look quite smashing-wouldn’t you agree?

20120323-033751.jpg

20120323-033802.jpg

Leave a Reply

