Day 50

Goodness gracious, these posts are getting more and more difficult to remember. Nonetheless I remembered, so here we go!

“For every minute you are angry you lose sixty seconds of happiness.”
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

I really like this quote at this point in time because it seems as though all around me, people are just getting angry and taking things out on others, when truly the problem at hand could have been resolved in a matter of seconds. In a mature way. I think too many people believe that telling someone off in the moment is the right thing to do. The case however is, not at all. That route just leaves the person yelled at feeling awful and vulnerable, while the person who yelled has just shown the truth in their inabilities to talk things out like a human being.

We only have so much time on this earth. Why spend it being angry and miserable? Instead, shouldn’t we focus on keeping and making as many smiles as we can for both ourselves and others? Shouldn’t we be focused on making memories, and living life to the fullest, absorbing all of the incredible opportunities dropped at our feet? It’s easy to get angry, it’s even more difficult to overcome that anger, and turn it into an opportunity to grow and see that anger resolves nothing. Similar to war. It just makes the angry person and those around them miserable. Let’s instead practice laughing off undesirable outcomes, shall we?

4 thoughts on “Day 50

  1. Hahahaha I love how you post this right before I watch Jonah Hill getting SOOOO angry in Superbad. I KNOW THAT F*GELL. I KNOW THAT. Sometimes anger is hilarious!! For instance, without the anger of the storeclerk, we would not have the line “apparently somebody has an exam…” Hahaha. And no I will not make you chocolate milk. 😉

    • There absolutely exceptions to every rule. For instance, I find it amazingly hilarious and satisfying to make you angry 🙂 And once you genuinely get angry, I think it’s even funnier so I keep prodding you. I LOVE YOU.

      Also… Challenge of the week: Try and use the word “prod” at least once an hour of every day this week. Why? Don’t ask questions..

Leave a Reply

