Day 46: Be the First to Say Hello

If you know me at all, you know that I am one of the most anti-social people ever. I generally do my best to avoid sitting near random strangers, and I’m not generally one to say “hello” first. Although, I must admit that I can be quite the chatty Kathy once the ice is indeed broken. So anyways, I read something yesterday titled “Life’s Little Instructions.” It was Compiled by suggestions from a 95 year-old who obviously knows what he’s doing after being on the earth for such a long time. He’s figured out little tips and tricks to help life be brighter and more fulfilling I guess you could say. Anywho, I read through this, and one of the things that struck me was the statement,

“Be the first to say hello.”

I am one of the most guilty people when it comes to not saying hello first, and it’s not because I don’t want to talk to the person next to me. It’s generally because my annoying shyness takes over and I freeze up. Today I decided to do just that. Be the first to say hello. Take initiative. First, I was in my car on the way to school when I passed a man walking his dog. I smiled and waved at him, and a big smile crept across his face as he lifted his arm to wave back. It’s nice to know that I was the reason that man had a smile on his face because of a simple gesture that hardly took any of my time. If anything, it actually made me feel better too!

Second, I’ve decided to actively smile at people a lot more. I know that I have a habit of keeping to myself, but I’ve found that gives off a negative vibe. Even though I don’t mean for it to in the slightest, I feel that people are much less approachable when they don’t look too happy-even if they’re actually content and just not showing it. So I smiled at a boy in a class of mine -admittedly yes I have a bit of a school girl crush on him, but i’d say the smile was pretty boldly obvious and not just a smile for the whole class to take in. He smiled back, and this time, he said hello first. Doesn’t sound like much, but I feel that I’m learning that even a simple smile can suffice as a “hello.”

Another interaction I had today with a stranger that doesn’t normally happen is that I got into a pretty good talk with a stranger today. I’m usually not one to do so, but I’ve heard that small talk with strangers can sometimes lead to the best talks people have ever had. It was sparked with the book I was reading, and we just got to talking for a good 15 minutes. It wasn’t weird at all, and was actually really interesting. It’s crazy how the stranger sitting next to you can actually be extremely compatible with you conversation and interest-wise, but you’d never know it just by sitting in silence next to them. And why not say hello? Odds are they’re waiting to see if you’ll say hello first too. Why wait for things to happen that may or may not when you can take the initiative and be bold and approachable instead? I’d say my shell is definitely opening up, and I couldn’t be more happy about it. 🙂

It’s about time.

2 thoughts on “Day 46: Be the First to Say Hello

Leave a Reply

