“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.”

“The world suffers a lot. Not because of the violence of bad people, but because of the silence of good people.” – Napoleon

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.” – Neale Donald Walsch

 

I’ve been talking a lot about wanting to get up and make a difference, but doing so actually takes initiative. I have a habit of veering away from things that are out of my comfort zone because inside the zone feels safe. It’s like a security blanket that stays put so long as the boat isn’t rocked by me. After traveling abroad this past Summer, I realized that if you want to actually experience amazing things, and live life to the fullest, instead of just saying you do, you actually have to step back, and walk in a different direction than that of your comfort zone. Find new people/activities/places that you’ve never been and just jump right in. Sure it can be a bit awkward at first- and to be honest I think that is my biggest boulder in the way- but we really have to just jump in all the way. None of this toe touch in the water to see how it feels. You’re either in or you’re out. All the way. I do want to help people, and I’ve realized that I’m going to have to get over a couple things that hardly matter – like actually meeting a few new people- in order to continue onto a road where I actually can affect people’s lives positively that need it. I really want to help with the GLAD alliance club on campus, so I’m going to throw off the bowlines and just do so! I’d also really like to get involved with the volunteer community on campus, and the same thing applies here. So what if I don’t know anyone the first day? I didn’t know anyone this Summer when deciding whether or not to go to Spain for five weeks – the longest I’d ever been away from home- and I almost decided against going! Because of as stupid and silly a reason as that! Of course I ended up meeting people, and I still text and hang out with some today. Some of my best memories are with these people that I was afraid of meeting. So why not? Why not just see what the world has in store? Why not say, “screw it” and just go out and do whatever I can to help out the community? Why not leave my comfort zone? This is what college is all about, right? Finding yourself and pushing your limits? I need to start doing this before it’s too late. A quote that I shared above states: “The world suffers a lot. Not because of the violence of bad people, but because of the silence of good people.” Well I no longer want to be silent. I want to do everything and anything I can to help out as much as I possibly can. Starting now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

