“Be strong. Live honorably and with dignity. When you don’t think you can, hold on.”

I just finished reading the first book I’ve read completely through in a very long time. I don’t know why I do this. I pick up a book that seems interesting, read the first few chapters, get captivated by it and make a point to read it, and then before I get the chance to, another book gets cracked open. The cycle is seemingly endless! I’ve made a decision that I will not buy anymore books until I actually finish all of the ones waiting to be read on my bookshelf. After the one I ordered online a few weeks ago by Tina Fey comes in, of course! Hey… I can’t help myself. ESPECIALLY when it’s the talented and amazing Tina Fey. That’s the last until I finish all the others though, I promise!

It actually feels very satisfying to actually have finished a book for once. I’ve been working on A Million Little Pieces by James Frey for the longest time. And by “longest time” I don’t mean a few months. I mean literally a couple years. I know that sounds pathetic. My habit of putting books down mid-read to pick up another IS that bad. But anywho, I made a decision to try an finish it before Christmas break was over, and I certainly did it. : ) It feels nice. Now I’m going to work on finishing my read of Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. I haven’t been working on that one for nearly as long, however it is one of the many books I’ve been hopping back and forth between. I saw the movie and absolutely fell in love. To be honest though, I never would have even gone to see the movie if I’d had my way. Of course, a boy – whom yes, i did have a crush on – suggested we watch it, and not wanting to be a demanding one, I said “sure!” I am normally not one to be first in line for a movie that seems to involve religion, or God, because I’m honestly not sure what I believe, and I don’t like others telling me what I should or shouldn’t believe in. Not that I have a problem with religion, on the contrary, if someone finds it balances their life and they enjoy placing their faith into a particular religion, more power to them! For their own personal growth though, not for them to place those views upon others, and call those who don’t agree “wrong” and “sinners.” None the less i obviously did watch this movie with this boy, and I actually ended up really enjoying it! They say not to judge a book by it’s cover… perhaps the same is true with movies and their titles. The book/movie isn’t necessarily about God, but more about finding yourself, which I am absolutely all for. I have found myself in a state of confusion, lost, and seemingly wandering so many times, I cannot count them. Sometimes this helplessness has lasted days, other times weeks or months.

I have a book on Buddhism that I read it during one of these periods of feeling lost, and I actually believed that it helped me get back on track. I like Buddhism because it’s more of a philosophy, rather than a religion. I’m not Buddhist at all, but I do like learning about new philosophies and ways to look at life though. Especially when in a state where I just feel lost. Speaking of philosophy — Sophie’s World is now on my reading list once again. I read it in Junior year of high school, however it’s been so long, and now that I’ve just completed a college course on philosophy, I feel as though I will be able to appreciate it much much more. This is not to be confused with the film, Sophie’s Choice. For some reason I’ve always used these names interchangeably referring to the book, and I recently realized while speaking with my Philosophy professor in an attempt to seem semi-knowledgeable that they are absolutely and one hundred percent different things entirely. Of course, me being the genius Ariana, I accidentally referred to the movie in which a jewish woman is forced to pick between which two of her children she would like to live during the Nazi Germany period. Completely different things. Hopefully he understood that I was referring to the book… not the depressing movie… HOPEFULLY.

Anywho, the book I actually did just complete actually had a few quotes within it that I really liked, so I thought I’d share them here. Mind you, this is actually a bit of a depressing book… it is about a man going through rehab, but it is extremely eye-opening and interesting. When I did pick up the book for a read, it was so enthralling, it was always hard to put back down. Boy does Frey know how to write.

Here are a few of the quotes I found interesting, and memorable. I apologize if you find any offensive, however it is a pretty offensive book through and through. Good, but offensive. :

“I think love is a rare thing in the World. If you think you can have it with this Girl, then fuck whoever tries to stop you and fuck their Rules. Take the risk and do whatever you can do and try not to get caught. If you do get caught, do it again.”

“I think you’re beautiful, but I wouldn’t want to fuck you because when we were done, I wouldn’t want you to feel fucked. I would try to make love to you, and I would probably be clumsy and awkward, but when it was over, I would want you to feel loved.”

“What is more important, fame or integrity. What is more valuable, money or happiness. What is more dangerous, success or failure. If you look to others with fulfillment, you will never be fulfilled. If your happiness depends on money, you will never be happy. Be content with what you have and take joy in the way things are. When you realize you have all you need, the World belongs to you.”

“I read that if you want to know the World, look inside your heart. I read that if you want to know yourself, look inside your heart.”

“I think God is something that People use to avoid reality. I think faith allows People to reject what is right in front of our eyes, which is that this thing, this life, this existence, this consciousness, or whatever word you want to use for it, is all we have, and all we’ll ever have. I think People have faith because they want and need to believe in something, whatever that something is, because life can be hard and depressing and brutal if you don’t.”

“Failure is an opportunity. If you blame someone else you will never stop blaming. Fulfill your own obligations, correct your own mistakes. Do what you need to do and demand nothing of others.”

“Be strong. Live honorably and with dignity. When you don’t think you can, hold on.”

2 thoughts on ““Be strong. Live honorably and with dignity. When you don’t think you can, hold on.”

  1. Loved reading your reading adventure! You should also read Paulo Coelho books if u get time, he also writes about self discovery. The quotes are fab by the way except for those with swear words! And Eat, Pray, Love is a beautiful read!

    I have very firm faith on God, I believe He listens when I talk to him, and it is totally amazing!

    Kitchen Mixer Reviews

    • Thanks so much! 🙂 I’ll definitely look into the author! I’ll admit that I too was a bit shaky on whether or not to write out those with the curse words because I don’t really like to use them too much, but I thought what the heck since it wasn’t actually me saying them. I truly appreciate you taking the time to read my post!

Leave a Reply

