Día Cinco

So tonight I find myself in yet another hospital within the same week. I really hope this doesn’t become a habit. First Barton’s shoulder and now my uncle. It’s a quick snap back into the reality that I’m back home and no longer in Vegas anymore though. Hopefully everything will turn out alright. I wish there was a warning button in life to alert you before something unpleasant or unfortunate was going to happen, so that you could at least prepare yourself for what lies ahead. Of course, that’ll never happen, but what does help these situations- and any really – is humor. You can’t live life too seriously or else you’ll find yourself in a whirlwind of emotions and nothing to do with them but wallow in them. I’ve hit some pretty low points in my life, and from experience I’ve found that simply allowing yourself to get lost in the emotions you’re feeling only makes things worse. Putting a smile on… even when you don’t feel like it… actually can do more good for you. If we take a second, even in the seemingly worst of situations, to stop and make a joke or two, at least the pain or sorrow can be put on hold for a bit, and a process of heeling can begin.

Leave a Reply

